h1

German-Italian Menu

26 July 2007

Schnell Italianisher Flammkuchen
fromage frais, tomaten, fromaggio, oignon, prosciutto, rocket

Schnell Italianisher Flammkuchen

It’s been a while since I posted anything, mostly because I’ve been cooking a string of wholly unremarkable and unmemorable meals. Not a singe fantastic recipie invented or modified, not a single glowing accolade from TB … I’m beginning to feel like I’m in a rut.
 
Missing Heidelberg, I decided to make a variation on the Flammkuchen I used to love there (you can also read about them in English, though I don’t think this entry is as good. For one thing, it only mentions FK as a specialty of France. And for another, I’ve never been to any restaurant that keeps bring FKs until one yells stop. If this were true, I would have bankrupted both the Dorfschenke and the less-well-known-but-in-my-opinion-tastier Marktstube).

Either way, my FK is an out-and-out cheat, and not at all authentic, but it wasn’t actually half bad. Even TB acknowledged that it might be preferable to a greasy take-away pizza from down the road. Under certain rare circumstances, I’m sure. Nevermind, here we go.

  • 1 box of Tesco pizza dough mix (don’t cringe: actually the resulting dry, biscuit-y crust was perfect for flammkuchen. Not sure I would recommend this mix for anyone wanting a pizza that tastes like pizza though. In NYC, the pizza place down the block would always sell me big balls of dough for a couple bucks. This is a much better solution for a quick fix pizza. Not sure it works outside of the US or even NYC, but happy to be proved wrong)
  • 3 fresh, ripe tomatoes, sliced thinly
  • 1/2 C virtually fat free fromage frais (we’re pretending this FK is healthy)
  • 1 medium red onion, thinly sliced
  • 6 slices (1 packet) parma ham/prosciutto
  • 4 oz/100g Emmental/Swiss/Jack/Chedder (yeah, so they don’t taste at all alike, it’s cheese, it’s going to be melted, it will taste good. Work with me here)
  • 1 oz Parmesean/Romano (optional)
  • handful of rocket leaves, washed and dried well

Make dough according to package instructions, but roll out as thin as possible into a rectangular shape. You don’t need to crimp the edges, but you can if that makes you feel more comfortable. Let rest at least the minimum recommended time, and then push dough out even further, to the edges of your baking sheet. Spread with the fromage frais to within about 1/2″ of the edge, and artfully arrange tomato and onion slices on top. Bake pizza at recommended temperature for about 20 minutes (my box recommended 20 minutes total, but I found that I still had a soggy crust at that point. Adjust accordingly). Remove from oven and grate cheese over, then add prosciutto. Bake another 5-10 minutes until everything starts to look nice and goldeny brown. You may have to shove your oven up a notch or two, but for godsakes don’t forget to set a timer if you do that. Remove pizza from oven, scatter rocket leaves over, and let stand in the pan for a couple of minutes. If you can manage to wait that long. Cut into rectangles and serve.

One comment

  1. This was a very good pizza (or ‘Flammkuchen’ as I’ve been told) and no comparison to a delivery pizza. In fact I was looking forward to it all day!

    If you’re lucky enough to have a great cook like M, you won’t need to order delivery again! (unless she’s away) 😉



Leave a Reply

